Posted by: lboudreau | November 22, 2009

Up day or down day?

We’re unworthy!  We’re unworthy!

Wayne and Garth and me, we have a club, and today I live in the clubhouse.  Lord, I am so behind the times.  No class room wiki, no fabulous student-led techno-project to share, no grants for an innovative idea.  Instead, I just read part of a book, a regular book, on formative assessments.  Sigh.  This is a down day.

I’m still trying to get a handle on vocabulary.  Today’s word: formative assessment.  (Okay, that’s two words.)  What does that mean?  And do I do it?  Do I want to do it?  I asked the department to buy this book (so I have to read it) and checked out sites and may have some answers.  Formative assessments are the partner of summative assessments– they measure along the way, rather than at the end of a section/chapter/ lesson.  They take many forms: questions, journals, homework, observations, even end-of-chapter tests, depending on how they’re used.  They are conducted at different intervals, but are most informative when used consistently.  Got the basics.  Think I use them.  Will probably find other ways to use them now that I have a vocabulary word to categorize them.

In the meantime, here is my humble offering, not techy, just useful.  I like the Eye On Education Press.  Two years ago I bought a book on alternative assessments– practical, well-written, and stimulated the creative juices.  This new book is similarly applicable.  I’ve read a lot of books over the years, many of which were a waste of time.  These have not been.  The EOE Press folks may have books to lull me to sleep, but I’m encouraged by these.  Here’s the link: http://www.eyeoneducation.com/


Responses

  1. Lynnae:

    I think the exploration of formative assessments is an important topic. Along with the explanation that you offered, I would add another few points to fill out the understanding of formative assessments. Many writers describe formative assessments as, “assessment for learning.” I think most importantly, whatever form they take, they should be used for and by the student to improve his or her understanding of what he or she has learned. The teacher would use an assessment formatively if he or she engaged the student in learning and improving from it, and possibly having an opportunity to show mastery. In addition, the teacher would use the formative assessment to ask him or herself, “did I do a good job with teaching this material.” From my reading on the topic, the issue about the teacher learning from the formative assessment about his or her teaching is as important as the student learning.

    I think this is where we struggle as teachers. While many teachers might give assessments that act “formatively,” I have my doubts that most teachers use them to evaluate and alter their teaching based on the results from the assessment. That is the difficult work in my estimation.

    I do think this topic–how to assess in authentic and formative ways is an important one for the 21st Century classroom. If we are going to adapt our teaching strategies to be sure we are teaching 21st Century skills, then we will need to look at how we assess student learning as well.

    Good post and important conversation.

    Bob Ryshke


Leave a comment

Categories