Posted by: lboudreau | August 13, 2011

Fresh Canvas

I’ve always been influenced by the rooms in which I’ve worked, read, and, well, eaten (do like a good restaurant).  I’ve almost always been organized.  (Almost.)  Marry the two and you have a teacher who needs a well-ordered space, at least at the start of school.  I feel I can let students tear loose in creative ways if I know what’s on hand to help the process.

At a new school this year, I start from scratch, moving two pick-up’s worth of materials and books (into a room that’s about the size of Wyoming, fortunately).  The kites are up, books on shelves, non-tech materials to hand, and manipulatives stored for just the right moment.  Took five days, but it’s done.  It’s a pleasure to sit in here and anticipate what we’ll do this year.  Of course, once students arrive, the peace and quiet evaporates, and we get down to the business of using this space.  It makes a heck of a mess, but that’s often where learning occurs.

So for now I enjoy order and serenity.  In less than a week the tsunami rolls in and we’re awash in school.  I wonder what learning we’ll imprint on this canvass.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing your words, Lynnae, and these pictures! Since I was a learner in that physical space at some point when Trinity was located there, I did my best to determine where in the building you are located! My best guess is close to the media center (something about the window and the walls), but I’m really not sure. I’d love to know!

    I love this line: “Of course, once students arrive, the peace and quiet evaporates, and we get down to the business of using this space. It makes a heck of a mess, but that’s often where learning occurs.” I look forward to following your journey as the year progresses…the mess and all!

    • Thanks, Megan. I’m in room 141, which is directly below the media center (now called the Horizon Center). I share the bottom half of that big circular window, and it rocks. The best light shines through it and the trees outside. It’s like being in a tree house.


Leave a Reply

Categories

